Jima Flower Coaster Pattern

2

October 3, 2012 by theknittersnewt

So I’ve been experimenting these past couple days with crochet.  I haven’t really made any definite headway with the art yet, seeing as I just learned back in July.  But here we have a set of lovely coaster I made with the beautiful Rios Malabrigo Yarn in I believe Candombe.  The yarn features deep, rich colors of blue, purple, and green fading into each other with beautiful gold highlights throughout.  Personally, I think it looks like the Milky Way.  I love this stuff.  It is so soft and luscious.  I wish I could just eat it.  Or have their entire collection in my pants.  Because what fiber artist doesn’t wish that about their favorite yarn?

Anyway, here is the pattern.

Flower Coaster Pattern:

Ch 4.  Join with sl st.

Round 1: Ch 3 (counts as first dc), 10 dc in ring.  Join with sl st.

Round 2: Ch 3 (counts as first dc), 1 dc in same stitch, 2 dc in each stitch until end. Join with sl st.

Round 3: Ch 3 (counts as first dc), 1 dc in same stitch, *ch1, skip stitch, 2 dc in (3rd) st* repeat until you reach the initial ch 3, ending with ch1.  Join.

Round 4: *4 hdc in ch1 space, sl st between dcs of earlier round* repeat until the end of round.  Join, cut yarn, and sew in the end!  Wooie, now you have a pretty little coaster.

Make a stack.  Or a couple stacks.  Give them to everyone you know.  Or throw them around like frisbees!

– Krystine

2 thoughts on “Jima Flower Coaster Pattern

  1. Leftymadness says:

    Thanks for the yarn recommendation – any idea how many metres/yards (or parts thereof) it took you to do one coaster? Want to combine them with a tea cosy as a gift and need to make sure I have enough yarn. Thanks!

    • Well, I’m not sure the exact yardage, but the total skein yardage was about 200 yards and I probably had a ball of 50 yards, and made 5 coasters with more left over. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

